Another world’s Meal.

I finally finished cleaning… Right as I was admiring my own work. I heard the sound of a bell. Was that the afternoon bell?

As I was thinking that, the door of the house opened up and Mary popped in.

“Are you done yet, Big Bro?! The bell just rang, so we’re gonna be open for business now!”

“Ah, I’m all done! How does it look?”

“Good, but don’t just stand there. Come and help me!”

“Yeah, yeah… I’m coming.”

Mary is growing up to be stronger and stronger… While I was in a daze, Mary got angry at me again.

“Big Bro! You have to keep the door open!“

“Oh, right. I forgot. Sorry.”

As I said that, I opened the door and slid the door stopper under it. In this world, the door is usually left open when the store is open. [TL/N: Look at bottom of page for information about ‘stopper’]

There are stores that don’t, but it’s a custom because stores want to show their ‘bright atmosphere’, plus, not many people write around here.

A customer came right as I pushed the door open.

“Is the store open yet?”

“Yes! Welcome in!”

Mary replied to the customer with a small smile and the customers had a big smile on their faces when they saw her.

Mary was doing her job of being a sign girl very well. I’ve gotta do my best as well! With that in mind, I went into the store.

After I went in, more and more customers kept on coming. It seems that we’re quite popular. I led the customers one by one to their seats.

The only two items on the lunch menu were the steak set, and the stew set. Both sets included hard bread, soup, and juice, and you can either choose between steak or stew for the main course.

Since the menu is pretty heavy, most of our customers were men and steak was ordered more than the stew.

Another new customer came in, this time it was a stout uncle.

“Welcome in! Would you like steak or stew?”

“Steak, please.”

“Right! One steak coming up!”

In this world, unlike Japan, you don’t need polite service to serve people. You raise your reputation with just a smile.

“Leon, take care of the steak!”

“Okay!”

My job was to take orders and serve food to the customers who ordered first, and clear the table once it was empty. Mary was in charge of bread, soup, and fruit juice, so I just served either steak or stew.

Since the bowls and cutlery are made out of wood, there isn’t a need to worry about breaking them. But since there are a lot of customers, it’s kind of difficult.

“Leon, I’ve got one stew and three steaks ready!”

“Okay, I’ll get them!”

As I worked without noticing the time, the number of customers gradually decreased, and the last customer left the store, and we closed.

The stores don’t have a set closing time, but they usually close once there are no more customers left, and so the closing time varies from day to day, but it doesn’t seem to make that much difference because everyone comes for lunch once the bell rings.

“Good work everyone, let’s all get some food, since we’re tired.”

“Let’s get lunch.”

“Lunch! Yay! I was so hungry.”

Leon’s family always has dinner after the cafeteria is closed for lunch. I was pretty hungry too, so I couldn’t wait.

“You’re also going to eat right, Leon?”

“Yep! I’m super hungry!”

“Then let’s all have dinner together, there are two steaks left today, so we can eat half for each.”

“Woohoo! I’m so glad.. We’ve been having only stew lately!”

It seems that we always eat the leftovers from lunch for dinner. This of course leads to more stew. Marie was saying that she was tired of stew lately.

Now she’s waiting for her steak with a big smile on her face. My dad looked at her and said with a smile.

“Mary, just wait for a bit. I’m going to bake it. And I’ll make Mary’s portion bigger.”

“Really? Yay!!”

“Ara~ Ara~ Mary sure does like her steak doesn’t she?”

Even my mother was chuckling, I couldn’t help but laugh and smile. This family is wonderful. But it pained to think of my family in japan, but I was glad that I was part of this family.

“Dad! I want a bigger steak too!!”

“Leon too? I’ll get you a bigger one!”

“Jeez, I guess they’re children too.”

Mom and dad looked at each other and chuckled.

“Now then, the both of you wait in the living room.”

“ “Okay!!” ”

Mary and I replied together and headed to the living room, there’s a desk and four chairs. Mary and I sit next to each other, while mom is in front of Mary and dad is in front of me.

I sat in my usual seat.

“Brother, are you excited for the steak too?”

“Mhm, of course, it’s so good.”

“Yep! I love steak! It’s been four days since I ate it, I’ve been counting the days!”

Mary then put her hands on her hips and pushed her chest forward and stood proudly. She also made a proud face.

My sister is…… unbelievably cute!! I’m going straight into the ‘stupid brother’ group now.

As I patted her head with a ‘pom pom’ she smiled happily, she looked so cuuu~te!

As I was internally screaming due to her cuteness, the living room door opened and mom and dad came through.

“Dinner’s ready.”

“Here’s Mary’s and Leon’s steak.”

“Kyah~! Yay!”

“Looks so good~!”

There it was, a freshly cooked steak that looked super delicious. This was my first meal after coming to this other world. I hope it suits my taste… But it smelled so good that I started drooling.

“And here’s some bread, soup, and fruit juice!”

“Would the two of you like some stew?”

“I’ll just have steak!”

“I’d like some!”

“Okay, here you go, here’s your stew leon.”

“Thank you!”

The other dishes looked good too! I couldn’t hold myself.

“Let’s eat it then? Thank you for the food.”

“ “ “ Thank you for the food. ” ” ”

I first used my fork to take a piece of the steak. This world doesn’t seem to have the custom of using knives while eating, and so the steak was already in bite-sized pieces.

And I ate the steak.

“So good~!”

“Mhm! Isn’t good brother?”

It’s really good, it tastes the same as the beef steak I ate in japan, the food in this world may be the same as in japan.

But Leon’s memories tell me that the variety of food is pretty small. So the ingredients may be the same, but it seems that cooking methods have not yet developed in this world.

The steak is also good, but it’s pretty salty.

Well then, let’s try the bread and soup.「Crack!」- what the hell?! It’s so hard, it feels like dry french bread. But well, if you chew enough, you can eat it. It tastes good, but it’s a hassle to eat.

And the soup is… 「Gulp.. Gulp..」Well, it’s not bad, but it’s not exactly exciting since it’s just salty. Is it because there aren’t any other ingredients?

What about the stew..? This is pretty…. Good. But it’s not a stew per se. It’s more like a ‘milk soup’. Maybe with consommѐ and no flour?  I lived alone in college, so I understand simpler recipes.

It’s not the stew I knew, but it’s really good!

If you don’t have high expectations, you’ll have a good and plain meal. It was really good and everything suited my tastes.

I’ll have to think about better food in the future, as I ate with these thoughts in mind before I knew it, I had finished it.

“That was good! Thank you for the food.”

“I ate all of my food, it was so delicious!”

I looked to the side and saw that Mary had finished her meal and was looking satisfied with a big smile on her face, my mom and dad also smiled back at her.

I was so happy. And so I decided that I’d take good care of this family, my family in another world.


Author Note: I’ll be posting every day after 8pm! I would be very happy if you could read it. If you find it interesting, please rate it, give me feedback, and give me a review!

One thought on “Another world’s Meal.

Leave a comment