Oridinary Forest (Part 2)

We decided to sit down and rest for a while, just like Nicola said. Though it was only thirty minutes to walk to the forest, it’s still tiring for the body of a child.

“Big brother! We can pick up a lot of fruits right?”

“It hasn’t gotten very hot yet, so I don’t think we’ll get much.”

“What the hell, tch!”

“Brother Nicola, we can get some fruits right?”

Mary was teary-eyed when she heard that there weren’t many fruits to pick, seeing this Nicola then said.

“But there are still some fruits that can be picked this time of year! Right Leon?”

You’re asking me..? Mary looked at me with tears in her eyes. Let’s see… According to Leon’s memories there are things that can be picked up this year… and they are… Raspberries!

It seems that this world has many plants and animals similar to Japan. Sure, some are different, but a majority of them are similar. I wonder why? 

“Mary, we can pick up raspberries this time of the year! Let’s pick them, shall we?”

“Really?! I love raspberries because they’re so sweet and good!”

“We can pick raspberries?! Wooh! I love raspberries!”

“Then, today we’re going to pick raspberries?”

“Mhm!”

Mary nodded with a big smile on her face, I’m glad that she’s feeling better.

I let out a sigh of relief and stared at Nicola. Nicola… You sacrificed me… As I stared at him intently, both our eyes met and he apologized with his eyes.

I think it’s a good idea to keep your eyes on the road, and not not on the road.

I feel like ever since I’ve gotten inside Leon’s body, I’ve been acting and thinking like a kid. Perhaps there’s a part of me that’s being influenced by Leon.

Well, I guess since he’s a kid he’s just pulling me along with his life.

“Well then, let’s find some raspberries then.”

“Yeah, let’s do that.”

We went into the forest and split up to look for raspberries. But when I say we went into the forest, it’s more like we went to the outskirts. So that we can get out quickly. We didn’t want to get lost here.

There was a river flowing a little deeper into the forest, but we decided to go there once we’re older. 

“There’s a raspberry here!” Mary shouted, I walked over where she was and saw a lot of raspberries.

Nicola and Luke came running here, their eyes were sparkling. Nicola was grown up, but I thought he looked cute and childish right now.

“Then, we’ll pick some! Mary, I bought you a jute bag, so you can use this.”

“Mhm! Thanks big brother! I’m so happy!”

“Oh yeah, why don’t we do our best and pick lots more and give it to mom and dad.”

“Okay!”

Mary was picking the raspberries with her tiny little hands, I also helped her out and picked with her.

While Nicola and Luke were both picking on the other side from us.

That’s a lot of work to pick these out, but there doesn’t seem to be lots of sweets or sweet things in this world. The only thing I remember is eating the fruits from this forest which were really sweet and other stuff from here, so it’s pretty valuable. Let’s do our best.

Alright. The bag’s now full, is it enough?

“I think we can be done now. My bag’s already full.”

“Yep! Mine too!”

“Yeah, I got a lot of it as well.”

“I’ve got lots of raspberries!”

Everyone’s eyes were sparkling because of the amount of raspberries we had picked.

“Let’s take a break and eat some of them.”

“Yay! We’ll eat them now!”

“Then let’s all sit over there.”

“Mhm!”

We all sat down on a stone and decided to eat the raspberries. The color was dark and it looked pretty delicious, though I wonder how it’ll taste…

*Chuu* *Chew* *Chuu*

It’s so dang sour! It’s sweet for sure, but the sourness is so strong that I can barely taste the sweetness!

Can you guys eat it? I’m not sure what to think of this.

“Mary, is it not sour?”

“Why? Isn’t it super sweet and delicious!”

“Really? What about Nicola and Luke?”

“It’s sweet and tastes good.”

“They’re super good, raspberries are the best!”

They all look fine eating them. Why is that…? Strawberries are supposed to be even sweeter and fresher… 

I see. I guess it’s because I’ve eaten a lot more sweeter things in Japan, that eating here feels a lot more sour to me. If I were to be born with these raspberries, then I can see why I’d think that this is the sweetest thing. Since that’s the sweetest thing in this forest!

But that might be fine for everyone else, but I already know the sweet taste of deserts! I want to eat fruits, cakes, chocolates, and cookies and all of that! Just thinking of it makes me drool.

If I had sugar, I could make sweets, right?

I need to find sugar, this is an urgent matter!

As I was thinking of that, everyone finished their breaks and got up.

“Since we have time, let’s pick up some firewood and go home!”

“Yep! But I’ll pick up more!”

“Nope! I’ll get the most!”

“I’ll get the most!” “I’ll pick up a lot!”, talking like this the three of them started picking up firewood. We were only picking up branches that had fallen onto the floor but it was a lot of hard work and we also had to carry them home. 

The reason for why would be that we get pocket money from home.

Since we’re a diner we consume a lot of firewood, but of course that’s really expensive and so to save money we, the kids, pick up firewood from the forest.

It seems many other houses also follow this method to save money, and of course Nicola and Luke’s home is no different.

“Come on big brother! You have to pick up some too!”

“Sorry~ Sorry~ I’ll pick it up now.”

I started to pick up firewood too, but the basket got heavier and heavier and it was hard to carry on the back. But Mary and Luke were doing it without a sound. So there was no way I, an older man, could be weak here. I’ll have to work hard too. 

Kids in this world are so strong, with that in mind I continued to pick up firewood.

“It’s getting late, let’s get home.”

Nicola said, we all then started preparing to leave. Since there are no clocks, we have no idea of the exact time, so we have to use the sun to estimate the time.

“Alright, is everyone good?”

“Yep! I’m good!”

“I can still walk!”

“Yeah, I’m fine as well, let’s get home.”

And we started walking towards home, it took us longer than when we came here. 


Author Note: I post this everyday after 8pm. I hope you enjoy reading it! If you find it interesting, please rate it and give me reviews and feedback!

Leave a comment